Governing Boards & Staff

Board of Directors


The Board of Directors of the New River Valley Agency on Aging is the principal policy making unit of the Agency. Policy-making, oversight in program determinations, and assuring the availability of funds and accountability for their expenditure are the primary functions of the Board. The Agency’s Charter and By-Laws further define the role of the Board of Directors.


Members are appointed by the governing bodies in each of the eight governmental jurisdictions in Planning District 4. There are 8 primary members and 8 alternate members appointed. The Board of Directors usually meet at least quarterly on the 4th Tuesday of the month at 1 p.m. Meetings are publicized and are open to the public. If you would like to be contacted prior to each meeting, please contact the Agency.


New River Valley Agency on Aging


Board of Directors Fiscal Year 2018-2019


Primary Members

Richard Ballengee

Appointed by the Town of Christiansburg


John Peek, Treasurer

Appointed by Giles County


Lauren Colliver

Appointed by the Town of Blacksburg


Lydia Hickam, Vice Chair

Appointed by the Town of Pulaski


Deena Flinchum, Chair

Appointed by Montgomery County


Mary Ann Semones

Appointed by the City of Radford


Elaine Powell

Appointed by Pulaski County


Terri Morris

Appointed by Floyd County


Alternate Members

Steve Huppert

Appointed by the Town of Christiansburg


Paul Baker (Chappy)

Appointed by Giles County


Susan Mattingly

Appointed by the Town of Blacksburg


Gary Hancock

Appointed by the Town of Pulaski


Raymond E. Lyons, Jr.

Appointed by Montgomery County


SallyAnna Stapleton

Appointed by the City of Radford


Anthony Akers

Appointed by Pulaski County


Cynthia Ryan

Appointed by Floyd County


Advisory Council


The Advisory Council of the New River Valley Agency on Aging carries out an advisory function that furthers the Agency’s mission of developing and coordinating community based systems of services for older adults in the 4th Planning District. The Advisory Council provides recommendations to the Agency’s Board of Directors on policies, planning, and programming. Development of the Agency’s Area Plan is a primary responsibility of the Advisory Council.

Members of the Advisory Council are appointed to serve on the Advisory Council by the Agency’s Board of Directors. Members represent community organizations, health and human services agencies, consumers of services, local elected officials, minority populations, and persons with leadership experience. The Advisory Council meets at least quarterly on the third Tuesday of the month at 10:00 a.m. Meetings are publicized and are open to the public. If you would like to be contacted prior to each meeting, please contact the Agency.


New River Valley Agency on Aging

Board of Directors Fiscal Year 2017-2018


Floyd County

Hilda Burnette

Karen Thompson


Pulaski County

Arthur Meadows

Nancy Robinson


Town of Christiansburg

Robert Dickenson


Giles County

Robert Miles

Fred Thompson


City of Radford

Dr. Richard Harshberger

Helen Harvey


Town of Pulaski

J.R. Schrader

Janet Johnson


Montgomery County

Amy Epperly

Bill Drummond


Town of Blacksburg

Dr. Lewis Barnett, Chair

James Montgomery


Members at Large

Ruth Wolford, Montgomery County Health Department

Dawn Taylor


Staff


Placeholder

Tina King, M.S. Ed.

Executive Director

Email: tinaking@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Carol Walters

Nutrition Supervisors

Email: nutrition@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Breanna Bentley

Administrative Assistant

Email: bmbentley@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Nikki Bentley

Administrative Assistant

Email: dsbentley@nrvaoa.org


Susan Story

Susan Story

Aging & Disability Resource Specialist

Email: sstory@nrvaoa.org


Susan Story

Marilou Sanders

Aging & Disability Resource Specialist

Email: msanders@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Shannon Cook

Volunteer Pulaski! Program Coordinator

Email: volunteerpulaski@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Shannon Hammons

Director of Development & Marketing

Email: shammons@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Teresa S. Hash

Fiscal Assistant

Email: tshash@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Casey Suthers

Aging & Disability Services Supervisor

Email: casuthers@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Elizabeth Wray

Virginia Insurance Counseling Assistance Program

Email: vicap@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Lesleigh Smith

Aging & Disability Services Specialist

Email: lnsmith@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Jennifer Viers

Director of Finance & Administration

Email: jviers@nrvaoa.org


Chris Blankenship

Chris Blankenship

Mobility & Med-Ride Program

Email: mobility@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Janet Brennend

Long Term Care Ombudsman/Elder Abuse Prevention Specialist

Email: ombudsman@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Theresa Taylor-Graham

Care Coordinator/Options Counselor

Email: ttgraham@nrvaoa.org


Placeholder

Marcella Goad

Aging & Disability Services Specialist

Email: magoad@nrvaoa.org